The Board of Zoning Appeals is a quasi-judicial board created by Monroe City Charter Section 9.13.  The BZA meets as needed and has three primary responsibilities:
  • hearing appeals regarding the decisions made by the Zoning Enforcement Officer under the Zoning Code;
  • considering requests for exception to the Zoning Code where there are conflicts in the applicable codes and planning documents, when property is to be used for public utility purposes, or when a nonconforming use wishes to expand or reconstruct its structure; and,
  • granting variances where a hardship of the land dictates that as an appropriate remedy.


The Board of Zoning Appeals is comprised of five members appointed by City Council for staggered terms of 5 years.  The current BZA members are:

  • Honorable Jonathon Nerenberg (Chair)
  • Mr. John Robbins (Vice Chair)
  • Mr. Jefferey Caron
  • Mr. Denis Stillman


Board of Zoning Appeals meetings are scheduled on an as-needed basis.

March 2010 Agenda March 2010 Minutes

January 2011 Agenda

January 2012 Agenda

November 2012 Agenda

March 2013 Agenda

January 2011 Minutes

January 2012 Minutes

November 2012 Minutes